The Importance of Dreaming Production Blog-Script

IOD 28

I am making my own animated short film from script to screen and this blog will document my process. The Importance of Dreaming is on the surface a story about an owl and a fox who fall in love despite their differences and with everyone against them try to find happiness.

It was inspired by my father who had alzheimer’s and thinking about where he may have been when he wasn’t fully in the here and now with us. Maybe it was like a dream. The story is further inspired by my parents story, as their marriage was initially frowned upon by family and friends for many reasons, and they did not believe it would last. They were married for 32 years.

I read the Abenaki legend “The Importance of Dreaming” which is a creation legend where the great creator falls asleep and dreams of this imperfect world only to wake to discover it is now real. But it is ok and it works even though chaotic.

Anyways what I’m doing is so contrived I can’t tell if it’s artsy or fartsy, probably both! Who knows if all this will come across in the film, but it is fun to make so far, and I guess this is just the backstory. The story is something I thought about for many many months before even making some post it notes, and then one day I just wrote it all out. It was very therapeutic, and I spent a lot of the day thinking about my father. (and balling my ass off). But the remaining story is hopefully inspiring and cute.

Here is a sample from the script:

Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 2.06.03 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 2.06.11 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 2.06.20 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 2.06.43 PM

Leave a Reply

