Applying for FUNding for my Indie Short Film

IMG_0768
Some facial expressions for a main character FOX. I wanted to make sure she could be very expressive, with minimal detail.
My office wall with my storyboards for easy viewing. I added post it note corrections and extensions. I used scotch tape to put them up though. Something I know I will regret later...
My office wall with my storyboards for easy viewing. I added post it note corrections and extensions. I used scotch tape to put them up though. Something I know I will regret later…

So I wanted to be able to spend all my time working on my film and I applied for 2 grants which I was awarded from the Canadian Council for the Arts and ArtsNB.

logo       logo (1)

The process of applying was lengthly. I spent about a month getting all my materials ready, which included a full script, storyboard, and some sample character concepts which I did in my spare time while working on illustrating comics and consulting for a couple publishers. The application itself ended up being 40 pages long! There are a lot of questions and writing succinctly is imperative. I had previously applied for one other grant which had been rejected. There was no reason given, but I do know that I was much more concise with my second application. The application was a good start to the pre-production

After applying it takes 4-5 months to find out if it was accepted. I was in both cases awarded less than what I had asked for, but I was able to adjust my budget and move forward with the project.

I wanted to make something personal that I cared about and the I knew I would have fun doing, as I will be working on this for most likely 10-12 months and beyond for promoting. A lot of times as an artist you have so many ideas, that it is hard to stay on track with a project if you have an even better brilliant idea that comes along. This is maybe weird to say, but I did surprise myself, after leaving the project for the 4 months and going back, I was happy to see a lot of the choices I had made I still liked! So way to go April 2015 Tara! You did some rocking shit! Now Oct 2015 Tara gets to make awesome backgrounds and it’s super easy because of PLANNING! Following the process of animation has really made my life easy so far. I am dreading a bit the actual animating that I will be starting very soon. But I think I can make it fun! We will see. Just follow the process, follow the process-my new mantra. The process wont fail you! I got my copy of “The Noble Approach” to inspire me.

IMG_0794

I am working on Backgrounds now, but this blog needs to catch up to real time Nov 2015 Tara. C’mon, me, you need to get it together!

Leave a Reply

